python-bulletml.git
4 years agoStricter PEP-8 conformance. master
Joe Wreschnig [Mon, 24 Aug 2015 20:07:17 +0000 (22:07 +0200)]
Stricter PEP-8 conformance.

4 years agoNew file locations in manifest.
Joe Wreschnig [Mon, 24 Aug 2015 20:05:54 +0000 (22:05 +0200)]
New file locations in manifest.

4 years agoUpdate URLs and documentation formats.
Joe Wreschnig [Mon, 24 Aug 2015 20:02:05 +0000 (22:02 +0200)]
Update URLs and documentation formats.

7 years agoReject all expressions with __ in them.
Joe Wreschnig [Sun, 10 Jun 2012 08:42:21 +0000 (10:42 +0200)]
Reject all expressions with __ in them.

9 years agoAdded tag Version 2 for changeset 2434bd2cc678
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 24 Apr 2010 09:05:46 +0000 (02:05 -0700)]
Added tag Version 2 for changeset 2434bd2cc678

9 years agoRelease date.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 24 Apr 2010 09:05:32 +0000 (02:05 -0700)]
Release date.

9 years agoBullet.step: Need to re-check finished in a second action iteration in case an action...
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 24 Apr 2010 08:55:18 +0000 (01:55 -0700)]
Bullet.step: Need to re-check finished in a second action iteration in case an action replaced itself with its parent.

9 years agoexpr: Improve documentation.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 24 Apr 2010 08:43:22 +0000 (01:43 -0700)]
expr: Improve documentation.

9 years agoFireDef.__call__: Minor optimizations.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 24 Apr 2010 08:43:07 +0000 (01:43 -0700)]
FireDef.__call__: Minor optimizations.

9 years agoCorrect bad docstrings.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 24 Apr 2010 08:37:02 +0000 (01:37 -0700)]
Correct bad docstrings.

9 years agoBullet.step: Manage finished state here. Although this increases the time spent in...
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 24 Apr 2010 08:28:10 +0000 (01:28 -0700)]
Bullet.step: Manage finished state here. Although this increases the time spent in bullet.step, all calls to that will be followed by checks of bullet.finished anyway, and a real attribute is cheaper than the callable.

9 years agoGive bullets a radius by default. Use try/except rather than getattr during collision...
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 24 Apr 2010 08:23:48 +0000 (01:23 -0700)]
Give bullets a radius by default. Use try/except rather than getattr during collision, as Bullet has all of those by default. Remove abs calls.

9 years agoBullet.__repr__: Fix format string.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 23 Apr 2010 08:57:40 +0000 (01:57 -0700)]
Bullet.__repr__: Fix format string.

9 years agocollision: Docstring should not mention pyrex.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 23 Apr 2010 08:56:30 +0000 (01:56 -0700)]
collision: Docstring should not mention pyrex.

9 years agoFix some example validity issues.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 23 Apr 2010 08:46:56 +0000 (01:46 -0700)]
Fix some example validity issues.

9 years agoBetter conditional / appearance test.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 23 Apr 2010 08:39:35 +0000 (01:39 -0700)]
Better conditional / appearance test.

9 years agoRewrite collision extension to not require pyrex. Aside from removing the dependency...
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 23 Apr 2010 08:26:33 +0000 (01:26 -0700)]
Rewrite collision extension to not require pyrex. Aside from removing the dependency collision checking is >10% faster in simple benchmarks.

9 years agobulletml-runner: Flash the screen when the mouse hits a bullet.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 23 Apr 2010 08:25:20 +0000 (01:25 -0700)]
bulletml-runner: Flash the screen when the mouse hits a bullet.

9 years agoAction.step: Remove special-case dependency on ActionDef / ActionRef.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 23 Apr 2010 04:47:08 +0000 (21:47 -0700)]
Action.step: Remove special-case dependency on ActionDef / ActionRef.

9 years agobulletml-runner: Give 120Hz figures to match the FAQ.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 23 Apr 2010 04:45:08 +0000 (21:45 -0700)]
bulletml-runner: Give 120Hz figures to match the FAQ.

9 years agoConstruct Actions before passing to Bullet.
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 22 Apr 2010 05:26:33 +0000 (22:26 -0700)]
Construct Actions before passing to Bullet.

9 years agoAction, Bullet: Minor optimizations.
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 22 Apr 2010 03:04:58 +0000 (20:04 -0700)]
Action, Bullet: Minor optimizations.

9 years agobulletml-runner: Construct bullets from the document.
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 22 Apr 2010 02:45:41 +0000 (19:45 -0700)]
bulletml-runner: Construct bullets from the document.

9 years agoAction.step: Construct Actions using Child.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 21 Apr 2010 09:01:43 +0000 (02:01 -0700)]
Action.step: Construct Actions using Child.

9 years agoAction.Child: Handle calling the definition.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 21 Apr 2010 08:24:21 +0000 (01:24 -0700)]
Action.Child: Handle calling the definition.
If; Add __repr__.

9 years agoAction: Don't need the owner in the constructor. Factory function to create a child.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 21 Apr 2010 07:41:51 +0000 (00:41 -0700)]
Action: Don't need the owner in the constructor. Factory function to create a child.

9 years agoIf: Conditional actions.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 21 Apr 2010 05:21:09 +0000 (22:21 -0700)]
If: Conditional actions.

9 years agoMajor refactor. Since Python is duck-typed the parser/impl split in the Java BulletML...
Joe Wreschnig [Mon, 19 Apr 2010 08:15:59 +0000 (01:15 -0700)]
Major refactor. Since Python is duck-typed the parser/impl split in the Java BulletML implementation only makes the code slow and awkward. Instead, have the 'parser' change the Action attributes, which results in no real loss of generality, and much more straightforward and faster code.

9 years agoAdded tag Version 1 for changeset c9a79ff8184b
Joe Wreschnig [Sun, 11 Apr 2010 05:34:20 +0000 (22:34 -0700)]
Added tag Version 1 for changeset c9a79ff8184b

9 years agoCorrect release date.
Joe Wreschnig [Sun, 11 Apr 2010 05:20:31 +0000 (22:20 -0700)]
Correct release date.

9 years agoAction.CUSTOM: New action types without subclassing.
Joe Wreschnig [Sun, 11 Apr 2010 05:17:34 +0000 (22:17 -0700)]
Action.CUSTOM: New action types without subclassing.

9 years agoAdd standard examples.
Joe Wreschnig [Sun, 11 Apr 2010 02:10:35 +0000 (19:10 -0700)]
Add standard examples.

9 years agoAdd docstrings.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 10 Apr 2010 06:37:28 +0000 (23:37 -0700)]
Add docstrings.

9 years agoRe-reverse coordinate system to match OpenGL.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 10 Apr 2010 06:31:16 +0000 (23:31 -0700)]
Re-reverse coordinate system to match OpenGL.
Add <appearance> element.

9 years agoCollision tests.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 23 Mar 2010 06:56:20 +0000 (23:56 -0700)]
Collision tests.

9 years agoMake Pyrex optional.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 23 Mar 2010 06:33:11 +0000 (23:33 -0700)]
Make Pyrex optional.

9 years agogetattr3 is faster than try/except in pyrex.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 23 Mar 2010 05:28:41 +0000 (22:28 -0700)]
getattr3 is faster than try/except in pyrex.

9 years agoOptional Pyrex extension for the collision module. More than doubles its speed.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 23 Mar 2010 05:12:56 +0000 (22:12 -0700)]
Optional Pyrex extension for the collision module. More than doubles its speed.

9 years agoNew S-shaped falling bullet pattern.
Joe Wreschnig [Sun, 21 Mar 2010 08:01:19 +0000 (01:01 -0700)]
New S-shaped falling bullet pattern.

9 years agoDocumentation updates. Version 1.
Joe Wreschnig [Sun, 21 Mar 2010 03:14:01 +0000 (20:14 -0700)]
Documentation updates. Version 1.

9 years agoBasic static/moving circle collisions. (Fixes issue #5)
Joe Wreschnig [Sun, 21 Mar 2010 00:44:17 +0000 (17:44 -0700)]
Basic static/moving circle collisions. (Fixes issue #5)

9 years agoIntegration and coverage tests. (Fixes issue #2)
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 20 Mar 2010 09:14:40 +0000 (02:14 -0700)]
Integration and coverage tests. (Fixes issue #2)

9 years agoIntern type strings for faster comparison during action running.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 20 Mar 2010 07:41:55 +0000 (00:41 -0700)]
Intern type strings for faster comparison during action running.

9 years agoFix Python 3 incompatibility.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 20 Mar 2010 07:27:01 +0000 (00:27 -0700)]
Fix Python 3 incompatibility.

9 years agoFix bad example YAML doc.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 20 Mar 2010 07:23:19 +0000 (00:23 -0700)]
Fix bad example YAML doc.

9 years agoFix muscle memory writing bad code.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 20 Mar 2010 07:21:10 +0000 (00:21 -0700)]
Fix muscle memory writing bad code.

9 years agoAdd <tag> support to BulletDef and FireDef.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 20 Mar 2010 07:16:47 +0000 (00:16 -0700)]
Add <tag> support to BulletDef and FireDef.

9 years agoBullet: Fix docstring.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 20 Mar 2010 07:02:16 +0000 (00:02 -0700)]
Bullet: Fix docstring.

9 years agoBetter variable name, self -> doc.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 20 Mar 2010 07:00:11 +0000 (00:00 -0700)]
Better variable name, self -> doc.

9 years agoBullet.FromDocument: Abstract weird constructor handling.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 20 Mar 2010 06:54:21 +0000 (23:54 -0700)]
Bullet.FromDocument: Abstract weird constructor handling.
Bullet.aim: Return 0, not current direction, for aiming to no target.

9 years agoRemove unused argument.
Joe Wreschnig [Sat, 20 Mar 2010 05:03:52 +0000 (22:03 -0700)]
Remove unused argument.

9 years agoBetter support for custom action handling and custom Bullet/Action subclasses.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 08:19:27 +0000 (01:19 -0700)]
Better support for custom action handling and custom Bullet/Action subclasses.

9 years agoMention BulletYAML support. (Fixes issue #6)
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 06:03:09 +0000 (23:03 -0700)]
Mention BulletYAML support. (Fixes issue #6)

9 years agoFix broken repr.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 05:59:11 +0000 (22:59 -0700)]
Fix broken repr.

9 years agoExpose only top-level actions, not bullets or firings.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 05:58:14 +0000 (22:58 -0700)]
Expose only top-level actions, not bullets or firings.

9 years agoDebug check should not have been committed.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 05:46:15 +0000 (22:46 -0700)]
Debug check should not have been committed.

9 years agoOrder state elements to generate more readable YAML.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 05:45:31 +0000 (22:45 -0700)]
Order state elements to generate more readable YAML.

9 years agoBulletML.FromDocument: Type detector. Various setstate bug fixes.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 05:32:51 +0000 (22:32 -0700)]
BulletML.FromDocument: Type detector. Various setstate bug fixes.

9 years agoYAML wrapper.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 04:49:06 +0000 (21:49 -0700)]
YAML wrapper.

9 years agoparser: Support __getstate__/__setstate__ protocol.
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 04:48:47 +0000 (21:48 -0700)]
parser: Support __getstate__/__setstate__ protocol.

9 years agoNumberDef: Store 'expr' field, a string for things that will get evaled but a static...
Joe Wreschnig [Fri, 19 Mar 2010 04:33:46 +0000 (21:33 -0700)]
NumberDef: Store 'expr' field, a string for things that will get evaled but a static number for times when it can be computed at compile time. Allow numbers to be passed to the constructor.

9 years agoPython 3 support.
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 09:37:36 +0000 (02:37 -0700)]
Python 3 support.

9 years agoWait: Actually don't do anything special for wait frames of 0, as break-now-continue...
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 08:40:09 +0000 (01:40 -0700)]
Wait: Actually don't do anything special for wait frames of 0, as break-now-continue-immediately-next-frame is useful.

9 years agoIf a ChangeDirection, ChangeSpeed, Accel, or Wait action takes 0 frames, do it immedi...
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 08:36:08 +0000 (01:36 -0700)]
If a ChangeDirection, ChangeSpeed, Accel, or Wait action takes 0 frames, do it immediately and continue.

9 years agoOptimizations:
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 08:17:09 +0000 (01:17 -0700)]
Optimizations:
 * Allow overrides of sin/cos functions, also makes them locals.
 * Only make one created array per bullet, and don't extend it with empty things.
 * Local cache for action.owner and action.params.

9 years agoPsyco-enable the test runner. Fix a copy/paste error.
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 07:29:25 +0000 (00:29 -0700)]
Psyco-enable the test runner. Fix a copy/paste error.

9 years agoPrevent divide by zero when the elapsed time is too small.
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 07:18:42 +0000 (00:18 -0700)]
Prevent divide by zero when the elapsed time is too small.

9 years agoBullet tagging. (Fixes issue #7)
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 07:17:40 +0000 (00:17 -0700)]
Bullet tagging. (Fixes issue #7)

9 years agoFix reference quotation.
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 06:47:42 +0000 (23:47 -0700)]
Fix reference quotation.

9 years ago<offset>: Parse, evaluate, and example test case. (Fixes issue #3)
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 06:22:48 +0000 (23:22 -0700)]
<offset>: Parse, evaluate, and example test case. (Fixes issue #3)

9 years agoPatter editing.
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 05:57:08 +0000 (22:57 -0700)]
Patter editing.

9 years agoAction: Get owner and rank during the step function, from the Bullet. This is faster...
Joe Wreschnig [Thu, 18 Mar 2010 05:56:06 +0000 (22:56 -0700)]
Action: Get owner and rank during the step function, from the Bullet. This is faster and lets a bullet source change rank more dynamically, and unbloats Action.

9 years agoNot 1.0 yet.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 09:48:38 +0000 (02:48 -0700)]
Not 1.0 yet.

9 years agoDocumentation.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 09:47:51 +0000 (02:47 -0700)]
Documentation.

9 years agoFix template.xml typo.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 09:14:32 +0000 (02:14 -0700)]
Fix template.xml typo.

9 years agobulletml-parse is a dumb program.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 09:13:43 +0000 (02:13 -0700)]
bulletml-parse is a dumb program.

9 years agoBulletML: FromDocument for parity with FromElement.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 09:13:21 +0000 (02:13 -0700)]
BulletML: FromDocument for parity with FromElement.

9 years agoNew example of a normal enemy pattern.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 07:49:55 +0000 (00:49 -0700)]
New example of a normal enemy pattern.

9 years agoAction: Fix probable bug in direction handling when there's only one frame left.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 07:48:32 +0000 (00:48 -0700)]
Action: Fix probable bug in direction handling when there's only one frame left.

9 years agoMention example PD license.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 06:59:42 +0000 (23:59 -0700)]
Mention example PD license.

9 years agoInclude 60Hz bullet estimate.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 06:58:41 +0000 (23:58 -0700)]
Include 60Hz bullet estimate.

9 years agoRelease preparation.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 05:38:41 +0000 (22:38 -0700)]
Release preparation.

9 years agoMinor optimizations.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 05:17:11 +0000 (22:17 -0700)]
Minor optimizations.

9 years agoFire, relative: I'm certain the reference implementation is wrong.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 04:56:54 +0000 (21:56 -0700)]
Fire, relative: I'm certain the reference implementation is wrong.

9 years agoINumberDef: Pre-int-round static values.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 04:52:22 +0000 (21:52 -0700)]
INumberDef: Pre-int-round static values.

9 years agoBullet.finished: Check vanished before checking actions, it's faster.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 04:51:39 +0000 (21:51 -0700)]
Bullet.finished: Check vanished before checking actions, it's faster.

9 years agoConvert degrees to radians at expression evaluation; use radians for rotation internally.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 04:29:57 +0000 (21:29 -0700)]
Convert degrees to radians at expression evaluation; use radians for rotation internally.

9 years agoDocstrings.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 04:19:09 +0000 (21:19 -0700)]
Docstrings.

9 years agoSeparate element constructors from regular constructors.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 04:16:45 +0000 (21:16 -0700)]
Separate element constructors from regular constructors.

9 years agoNumberDef: Bind random and builtins in a separate dictionary. Replace $rand with...
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 02:44:09 +0000 (19:44 -0700)]
NumberDef: Bind random and builtins in a separate dictionary. Replace $rand with random(), to allow it to be used twice with different results in the same expression.

9 years agoFix pageup/pagedown during empty events.
Joe Wreschnig [Wed, 17 Mar 2010 02:43:02 +0000 (19:43 -0700)]
Fix pageup/pagedown during empty events.

9 years agoEvaluation optimizations.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 16 Mar 2010 10:01:31 +0000 (03:01 -0700)]
Evaluation optimizations.

9 years agoBullet: Track previous X/Y.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 16 Mar 2010 09:30:09 +0000 (02:30 -0700)]
Bullet: Track previous X/Y.

9 years agoExample files.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 16 Mar 2010 09:19:41 +0000 (02:19 -0700)]
Example files.

9 years agoTest runner improvements.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 16 Mar 2010 08:50:46 +0000 (01:50 -0700)]
Test runner improvements.

9 years agoGet my coordinate systems straight - 0,0 will be upper-left.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 16 Mar 2010 08:45:32 +0000 (01:45 -0700)]
Get my coordinate systems straight - 0,0 will be upper-left.

9 years agoKnock out final bugs caused by misparenting. Runs all tests as the demo applet.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 16 Mar 2010 08:24:03 +0000 (01:24 -0700)]
Knock out final bugs caused by misparenting. Runs all tests as the demo applet.

9 years agoActionDef: Append based on parsing the subelement, not the element.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 16 Mar 2010 07:30:30 +0000 (00:30 -0700)]
ActionDef: Append based on parsing the subelement, not the element.

9 years agoPygame-based runner.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 16 Mar 2010 07:04:45 +0000 (00:04 -0700)]
Pygame-based runner.

9 years agoCreate Bullets from documents.
Joe Wreschnig [Tue, 16 Mar 2010 07:04:37 +0000 (00:04 -0700)]
Create Bullets from documents.